Lighting and Sound: Photography

 

Breif:

The Brief: (CW3) (40%)

 

This brief for this project requires that you complete:

 

Part 1: Lighting production practice: Produce a portfolio of photography work to include at least Two images in the following areas: – Portrait, Pack-shot, Landscape (two night-time and two Daytime), Depth of field, and Green screen EFX composition.  

To do this you will need to analyze and evaluate lighting design in contemporary animation product and demonstrate a working knowledge of lighting production processes for animation through your portfolio product. ( LO1 & 2)

 

Part 2: Lighting and Art direction: Design and develop a clearly definable lighting design approach relevant to your production project brief for your other studio modules and apply this in the production process and completion of this project. You must also produce a fully edited and mastered audio track for your production, Using music, sound effects atmos and voice recording as required. This must also be accompanied with an Audio log and evaluation report Minimum 1000 words

 

Part one of the brief talks about taking varied photographs and using multiple different photography techniques to achieve the learning objectives. I am very confident in DSLR operation as photography has been a hobby of mine for many years.

 

All unsorted photographs

 

Green Screen Images

The green screen images were taken in the stop go animation room and edited onto images of The Titanic and The IT Crowd using photoshop.

 

Landscape

These images were taken in Greece over Easter using a Canon 70D.

 

Depth of Field

 

Portrait

 

Pack Shot

 

Brief Part 2

 

The audio for this brief was created in  conjunction with 3D CGI – Puzzle Box CW3. The original music track is Grieg – In the Hall of the Mountain King. I created the audio effects using random household objects and there interactions when moving, dropping or shaking them.

I used my Rode Video Mic Pro to record the audio for the project. The microphone is plugged into my Canon 70D.

This is one audio sample from the multiple recordings. When recording sound on a camera there is no way to solo the audio so I would have to split the video and the audio track in post production.

I used multiple different objects to create the sounds for the animation such as; a football falling onto different surfaces at different heights. Coffee granules that are being shook in a tin and metal rings that are being dropped and then spun on the side to create a ball rolling sound.

Screenshot_10

In this animation which was titled Step Ball Machine, I used a football falling from different heights to create the sound of the metal balls falling into the sound. As the balls were falling into a sand pit the noise had to be dampened and soft, so I dropped the ball onto thick carpet.

Screenshot_13

For the Galton Board scene I knew I needed lots of little objects to interact with something in order to make a sound like 3000 ball bearings falling. I found coffee granules and various assortments of cereal. I emptied the contents of the food onto different surfaces to record the sound they made. I took several recordings of different foods, which I ended up using coffee granules and rice crispies for the final audio.

Screenshot_15

For the Newtons Cradle animation I needed to make a metal rigid sounding ball hitting another ball of the same density. I searched around for metal objects, I ended up using spoons, a metal ring and a metal pole. Some of the sounds did not match the visuals of the cradle, however the metal ring hitting a ceramic dish made a suitable sound for the animation so for the rigid body part of the Newton’s Cradle, I used the metal ring.

For the second part of the Newton Cradle animation, the soft body sequence, I used an exercise ball against carpet for a soft dampened noise.

penrose seq 1_0142

Leave a comment